Avengers: “Look on my works …”

ultron-ozymandias

I’ve always loved this page, the end of “Avengers” 57, from October 1968.

Along with “Fantastic Four,” “Avengers” was my favorite Marvel comic. I constantly found myself amazed at the ingenuity, the artistry and yes, the poetry.

Although Ultron was to return to plague the Avengers many times over the decades – and does so again in a couple of weeks in “Avengers: Age of Ultron” – this final page from the Roy Thomas-written comic, using Percy Bysshe Shelley’s poem “Ozymandias,” to show the mundane outcome of a mighty batlle, left me awed.

Still does.

Leave a Reply

