Old comic book ad: 7,000 novelties – on this page, I think

comicbookadgunsstuff

Holy moly, I poured over every ad in my comic books in the 1960s but I’m not sure even I would have the patience for this.

This Johnson Smith Co. ad, from an unknown period of comics, boasts that the company offered 7,000 novelties in its 500-page catalogue, which sold for 10 cents.

Heck, I think they had all 7,000 novelties on this single page.

A midget race car, a miniature camera, guns of all types … a fencing set! An accordion!

The Johnson Smith Co. – established in Chicago in 1914 – apparently still exists.

I bet they sell fewer fencing sets than back in the day, though.

Leave a Reply

