The Oscars: The movie reviewer 30 years ago

me theater

Wow. Time flies.

This is me, 30 years ago this year, in a totally not-posed shot outside the Rivoli Theater in downtown Muncie. The photo was taken for some promo or other when I was reviewing movies.

The Rivoli isn’t there anymore. And I don’t review movies in my day job anymore.

But there was a time when i did. I reviewed movies as part of my actual job – as opposed to the stuff I do here, around the edges of my actual job. I’ve done a little bit of everything in the news business in more than three decades, but I reviewed movies from 1978 (“Animal House” was the first) to 1990 (“The Two Jakes.”)

Back in the day, and really until just a few years ago, I watched the Oscars every time it was on. Every minute of it.

Tonight I’ll watch some of it, but will take extensive breaks for “The Walking Dead” and “Talking Dead” and all the other things that go with being a grownup.

Time marches on.

Leave a Reply

