Today in Halloween: Spooky farm boy trick-or-treaters

I grew up on a farm out in the country, so I know that there’s not always time to run into town and shop for Halloween costumes. Especially back 40 or 50 years ago, when Halloween costumes were in short supply.

So you get yourself a mask and some of dad or grandpa’s clothes and you make do, dagnabbit!

So while there’s familiarity to today’s installment of unsettling – even creepy – vintage trick-or-treaters, there’s also a little chill.

Maybe it’s the rosy red cheeks and hair bow (I think?) on the kid on the right.

Maybe it’s the authentic, backwoods-feeling addition of the cap on lefty.

I did a Google image search of the mask on the right and it gave me dozens of Facebook photos of women with blonde hair and heavily made-up faces.

Personally, I’d be insulted if I were them.

Leave a Reply

