Harry Potter and the Big Goodbye

Spoilers, maybe. But based on how many people are likely to see “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2” and how quickly they are likely to see it, probably not for long.

I confess that I have not yet read J.K. Rowling’s “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.” I’ve read all the earlier books but not the finale of her story about the boy wizard and his friends. Why haven’t I? I guess I can blame it on too many other books, new and untried stories and characters, that I want to read.

But part of it might also be the finality of it. I know that once I finish that book it’s the end of the story for me. I can re-read the books, but I won’t get a fresh adventure, probably ever.

I felt that way going into the movie version. I was looking forward to it almost as much as the comic book adaptations coming out this summer. Considering what a great job the “HP” filmmakers have done on the earlier movies, there was little doubt that the final one would be very good.

And it is very good. Lots of time to say goodbye to Harry, Ron and Hermione, lots of action, some beautiful special effects and wonderful moments for characters like Neville and Prof. McGonagall in particular.

If I had any reservations about the movie, it’s that there really wasn’t time to service all the characters. When Harry sees some of his friends and cohorts dead after the climactic battle, I thought, “Oh man, BLANK and BLANK are dead. I wonder how it happened?”

In the hands of lesser talents, the ending might have felt like an attempt to set up sequels. And who knows if Rowling will come back to these beloved characters some day? But I think we can safely assume “Deathly Hallows Part 2” is our farewell to Harry and friends. And a fond one it is.

Leave a Reply

